daily post · New posts · Women

When I Was A Child 

Good morning,


INSECURITY

It is an uncertainty or anxiety about oneself; lack of confidence.

I was having a conversation yesterday with two of my girlies. As we spoke I heard the Holy Spirit say that “did you know that insecurities doesn’t just start from adulthood, it started from childhood.”
(I know you would say dah!)

“What is making it grow into adulthood, is the inability to stop it in its tracks.”

“These insecurities caused you to make wrong choices when you were dating the wrong men.”

“It caused you to choose the wrong friends.”

“It caused the lack of confidence in yourself.”

“Insecurity makes you feel unworthy and unwanted.”

Then He reminder me of when I was a child in year 8,(in secondary school), I used to flick my Afro like a little Caucasian or Asian girl would. Well you can’t blame me, they were the only friends I had at the time and I wanted to be and look like them. 

I thought I had to have long hair to be beautiful and fit in, and because I thought it was a cute thing to do. Though I didn’t have long hair and there wasn’t much I was flicking away from my face, I did it to feel among. 

This meant, I was not secure in myself, in my Afro hair. My mum and grandma would tell me off and laugh at me for my silliness. My mum will tell me “you are  Afro/Caribbean, love yourself and stop trying to be like others.” 

I did stop and started embracing my Afro/self.

It’s is vital as an up coming parent to identify these things in our children, speak to them and correct them. If they are not corrected it will enter into their adulthood and become bigger demons.

We can be the cause of our children’s insecurities. I once read…

“The critical inner voice is formed out of painful early life experiences in which we witnessed or experienced hurtful attitudes toward us or those close to us. As we grow up, we unconsciously adopt and integrate this pattern of destructive thoughts toward ourselves and others.

A childhood insecurity can vary from 0-10, depending on the child’s temperament. As parents we have to help our children and give them a sense of security and confidence that they can hold on to as they grow into adult life, full of joy and happiness. 

We have to set an example, don’t throw away anything they say. Make time to talk to them, set an example by showing them unconditional love. Make them know that they can come and talk to you anytime.

Overcoming insecurities as an adult starts from childhood. Let’s help our children to grow into confident and strong men and women.

As an adult if you feel insecure, go back to your childhood, look back and track back to when you noticed why and how you started feeling insecure. 

Meet with a leader in your church, or speak to someone to help you. Most importantly go on your knees and pray to God to strengthen you and to overshadow you with His love.

Philippians 4:6-7

6 Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.

7 And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Let us help ourselves and our children to put away childish things. 

God bless and have a beautiful day 😇🙏😘

Yours truly and always,

#myepistle…

2 thoughts on “When I Was A Child 

  1. Amen . I have just gone through this recently and I’ve realised the importance of addressing insecurities from childhood , even things like anger can result from childhood and it’s important to deal with the reality and ask God to help you to identify and make the change. Even if it means talking to parents about past insecurities . It might not go down too well but its healthy in order to move on .

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

