Christianity · New posts

Relationships

Good morning,

Great day yesterday, we really enjoyed celebrating my daughters 4th. I made a very interesting comment that nearly got me into trouble. I made reference to a certain word called “relationship”. I guess. While having this conversation I should have elaborated and expanded on what I meant so it didn’t cause offence.

My little brother also pointed out I say things as it is regardless of how it is received. I thought I was changing in that area but I guess I still have a long way to go.

What is a “relationship” according to wiki,

1. The condition or fact of being related; connection or association.

2. Connection by blood or marriage; kinship.

3. A particular type of connection existing between people related to or having dealings with each other: has a close relationship with his siblings.

4. A romantic or sexual involvement.

When I was talking about relationship I was talking about the condition and state side of the word relationship, but unfortunately I wasn’t understood.

What do we class as having a relationship? My window on this topic will be about various types of relationships with friends, and their levels. I have come to realise that not everyone you call friend actually fits the category of the word friend.

A friend in my terms is someone you can relate with, share things with, in regular contact with, your are consistent with, distance or length of last communication doesn’t matter. You always find a way to pick up from where you left off, you fight but know you mean no harm.

I believe relationships should be worked on at every level. You could also have a sibling but you don’t necessarily have a relationship with them. In the sense that you are not close or share any intimate topics.

Proverbs 17:17,  A friend loves at all times, and a brother is born for a time of adversity.

Wiki says a friend is 
a person attached to another by feelings of affection or personal regard. A person who gives assistance; supporter. A person who is on good terms with another; a person who is not hostile.

I have various people in my life who fitted in such aspect at a point, and I say at a point because along the way it became one sided, the relationship had to be dissolved. Hence why if you asked if they were my friend I would say no. Which made me use the word that I don’t have a relationship with the person any longer. 

We might see occasionally, say hello or visit for important reasons, but no longer share intimate things or important thing any with any longer. That doesn’t mean upset. It’s just a healthier way to live life, instead of being stuck with a friendship that is no good for you.

I once had a relationship with a friend but along the way I felt the friendship wasn’t mutual. I couldn’t trust her, her intensions towards me wasn’t always without a hint of competition. She was never clear about her life but constantly wanted to be involved in mine. I couldn’t even be broke and be confident to ask this friend, cause I knew they could not sacrifice for me. 

Proverbs 18:24, One who has unreliable friends soon comes to ruin, but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.

After a while I grew up and matured from being upset about it as I felt the more I was upset in my heart the more I sinned. I also tried to express mysel to this friend but to no avail. When you have a level of relationship with someone you should never be afraid to express yourself.

Ephesians 4:2-3, Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love. 3 Make every effort to keep the unity of the Spirit through the bond of peace. 

Be blessed and have a great week. 

#myepistle

Leave a Reply

